Tracking Food Industry Pledges to Remove Petroleum Based Food Dyes
On April 22, 2025, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Food and Drug Administration announced a bold national initiative to phase out petroleum-based food dyes (certified color additives) from the American food supply – marking a significant milestone in the Trump Administration's efforts to Make America Healthy Again.
HHS Secretary Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. and Acting FDA Commissioner Kyle Diamantas emphasize that these petroleum-based synthetic dyes offer no nutritional benefit and may pose health risks, particularly to children, citing concerns about childhood obesity, diabetes, depression, and ADHD. The initiative establishes a national standard for the food industry to transition away from petrochemical-based dyes and toward natural alternatives.
Regulatory Actions on Specific Dyes
As part of this effort, the FDA has taken direct regulatory action to remove several synthetic color additives from the market. Prior to this initiative, on January 15, 2025, the agency revoked authorization for FD&C Red No. 3. As part of this effort, the FDA has encouraged industry to remove Red No. 3 ahead of the January 15, 2027, deadline. The agency also finalized the revocation of authorization for Orange B and proposed revoking authorization for Citrus Red No. 2. Additionally, the FDA is working closely with food manufacturers, retailers, and trade associations to eliminate six remaining certified color additives frequently used in the food supply—FD&C Green No. 3, FD&C Red No. 40, FD&C Yellow No. 5, FD&C Yellow No. 6, FD&C Blue No. 1, and FD&C Blue No. 2—by the end of 2027.
Authorizing Natural Alternatives
To ensure manufacturers have viable substitutes, the FDA has approved new natural color additives, including calcium phosphate, Galdieria extract blue, gardenia blue, butterfly pea flower extract, and beetroot red. The FDA has also updated its labeling policy to give companies greater flexibility in making "no artificial colors" claims when using naturally derived colors.
Industry Response
The initiative has catalyzed significant voluntary commitments from major food companies. General Mills announced it would remove certified colors from all U.S. cereals and K–12 school foods by summer 2026. Nestlé committed to eliminating FD&C colors from its entire U.S. food and beverage portfolio by mid-2026. Conagra began a phased removal of FD&C colors from its frozen food portfolio by the end of 2025, with a full U.S. retail portfolio phase out targeted by the end of 2027.
Industry Tracker: Pledges to Remove Petroleum-Based Food Dyes
| Company | Product(s) or Brand(s) Affected | Planned Changes | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aramark Student Nutrition | National K-12 foodservice provider in more than 350 school districts |
| Complete |
| Otis Spunkmeyer | All Otis Spunkmeyer branded foods |
| Complete |
| Save A Lot | All private-label products |
| In progress |
| Amos Sweets Inc. | Peelerz |
| In progress |
| Target Corporation | All cereal sold in stores and online |
| Complete |
| Sam's Club | Member's Mark food and beverage products |
| Complete |
| Campbell's | Lance Crackers, V8 Splash; regional snacks brands such as Jay's, O-Ke-Doke, Tom's; cookie brands such as Archway, Stella D'oro |
| Complete |
| Utz Brands | All products |
| In progress |
| American Bakers Association | ABA Member List |
| In progress |
| Conagra Brands, Inc. | Birds Eye®, Duncan Hines®, Marie Callender's®, Slim Jim® |
| In progress |
| Consumer Brands Association (CBA) | Member List |
| In progress |
| Danone U.S. | Light + Fit Greek, YoCrunch |
| In progress |
| General Mills, Inc. | Betty Crocker®, Bisquick®, Chex® Cereal, Cinnamon Toast Crunch®, Häagen-Dazs™, Pillsbury®, Progresso®, Trix® |
| In progress |
| Grupo Bimbo, S.A.B. de C.V. | ARNOLD®, Little Bites®, THOMAS'®. |
| In progress |
| In-N-Out Burger® | Strawberry Shakes and Signature Pink Lemonade |
| Complete |
| International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) | Specific companies not disclosed. |
| In progress |
| Kellanova® | Specific brands not disclosed. |
| In progress |
| Mars, Inc. | Extra®, M&M's®, SKITTLES® Original, Starburst® |
| Complete |
| McCormick & Company, Inc. | FRANK'S RedHot®, French's®, McCormick® |
| In progress |
| McKee Foods | Little Debbie, Sunbelt Bakery, Drake's, Fieldstone Bakery |
| In progress |
| Nestlé USA | All products in the U.S. |
| Complete |
| PepsiCo, Inc. | New Cheetos® and Doritos® products |
| Complete |
| PepsiCo, Inc. | Gatorade |
| In progress |
| PIM Brands, Inc. | Welch's® Fruit Snacks |
| Complete |
| The Hershey Company | BROOKSIDE®, Dot's Homestyle Pretzels®, JOLLY RANCHER®, KitKat®, SKINNYPOP®, Twizzlers® |
| In progress |
| The J.M. Smucker Company | Certain varieties of reduced sugar fruit spreads, ice cream toppings, and a selection of products from our Hostess brand |
| In progress |
| The Kraft Heinz Company | Crystal Light®, Kool-Aid®, MiO®, Jell-O®, Jet-Puffed® |
| In progress |
| Tyson Foods, Inc. | Tyson®, Jimmy Dean®, HILLSHIRE FARM® |
| Complete |
| Walmart, Inc. | All Walmart private brand foods in the U.S. are included, such as: Great Value, Marketside, Freshness |
| In progress |
| WK Kellogg Co® | Kellogg's APPLE JACKS®, Kellogg's RICE KRISPIES® varieties, Kellogg's FROOT LOOPS®, Various Licensed Cereal Products |
| In progress |