

CVM Leadership

DIRECTORS

Dr. Henry Moskey

Food and Drug Administration Senior Veterinarian, FDA 1927-1952

Dr. John Collins

Chief, Veterinary Medical Branch Bureau of Medicine, FDA 1953-1958

Dr. Charles G. Durbin

Director, Veterinary Medical Division, FDA 1959-1965

Merton R. Clarkson, D.V.M., J.D.

Director, Bureau of Veterinary Medicine January 1966 – October 1966

Cornelius ("C.D.") Van Houweling, D.V.M.

Director, Bureau of Veterinary Medicine January 1967 – June 1978

Lester M. Crawford, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Director, Bureau of Veterinary Medicine August 1978 – August 1980 April 1982 – December 1985

Gerald B. Guest, D.V.M.

Acting Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine August 1980 – April 1982

Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine October 1986 – April 1993

Richard H. Teske, D.V.M.

Acting Center Director April 1993 – May 1994

Stephen F. Sundlof, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine June 1994 – January 2008

Bernadette Dunham, D.V.M., Ph.D

Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine January 2008 to April 2016

Tracey H. Forfa, J.D.

Acting Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine April 2016 to January 2017

Steven Solomon, D.V.M., M.P.H.

Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine January 2017 to present

DEPUTY DIRECTORS

Dr. Fred J. Kingma

January 1967-June 1978

Terrence Harvey, D.V.M.

1980-1982

Gerald B. Guest, D.V.M.

April 1982 – January 1986

Richard H. Teske, D.V.M.

June 1994

Rear Admiral Michael J. Blackwell, D.V.M.

June 1994 - February 1999

G.A. "Bert" Mitchell, D.V.M.

Acting Deputy Director February 1999 – July 1999

Andrew Beaulieu, D.V.M.

July 1999 – February 2001

Rear Admiral Linda Tollefson, D.V.M., MPH

February 2001 - September 2005

Bernadette Dunham, D.V.M., Ph.D

August 2006 - January 2008

Tracey Forfa, J.D.

January 2008 - present